Cognitive Coaching: 2nd Observation

What?

For this observation, I had Professor Hasenbank focus and provide feedback on my questioning techniques, specifically not asking “yes or no” questions, and my timing to allow students to think for themselves and ensure everyone’s voice was heard. Also, not specifically outlined in the plan but I wanted to be more explicit with the big ideas of the lesson.

So What?

Throughout our Cognitive Coaching session, I elaborated on my strategies used and how I felt they effected the classroom. I made a conscious effort to give students more time to answer questions before accepting a volunteer’s answer. I had also explicitly told the students “by raising your hand…..” which helped keep the students from yelling out answers and not allowing their peers time to think. I also asked more open-ended questions, allowing students to think critically as opposed to a “yes or no” question. This allowed me to gain some great insights on the students’ thinking process as the lesson progressed. Another benefit to giving students more time to think about questions I posed to them was that they had more questions for me about the lesson. I have been trying to eliminate the question of “Are there any questions?” from my lessons, and with all of the questions my students asked me I felt that posing this question was unnecessary.

Overall, I thought that my questioning strategies are much improved from the beginning of my Teacher Assisting, but can still be greatly improved. The ability to guide students thinking with a few questions is an art, and very difficult to master.

Now What?

I have been given the opportunity to reflect on my lesson and my Coaching Session, and the insights are extremely beneficial. Not only was I able to see a distinct difference with this lesson and a focus on my questioning and how that effected engagement, student participation, and understanding of the content, but also classroom management. I am looking forward to using the MTBOS to improve my teaching, specifically my questioning techniques. I intend on creating a questioning techniques that suits my style of teaching, and is age appropriate for my learners. One that allows them to think deeper than just which formula fits where and allows them to really explore the conceptual aspects of mathematics.

Standard

Leave a Reply

